TPA3116D2 Amp

Small TPA3110 runs filterless and sounds good, and I did not notice any problems even with my 10m loudspeaker cable. Wushuliu reported good performance and Chakija (on diyaudio.rs) tried and liked it with his Pi clone speakers. I'm no expert,maybe 3110 uses somethig else for filtering...

TPA3110 is a much smaller amp and specifically designed for "filterless" output due to a EMI suppressing modulation scheme. Filterless in this respect means ferrite beads and/or very short leads. Running completely filterless with long leads means you're sending out loads of RFI noise, and I strongly advise you not to do that.

You can also run TPA3116 with ferrite bead output filter only but it's highly recommendable to use a full LC output filter due to the increased efficiency and sound quality you achieve with a properly designed LC output filter.

You should under no circumstances run a TPA3116 completely filterless!

Regarding the LC filter: it is 10 uH compared to the almost 1 mH inductance of speaker voice coils I think the effect on overall reactance is minimal. If you were to drive multiways with huge coils in the XO, even less important of an effect.

Agreed. 10uH is significant when using a low Le full ranger though

It the fact its an LC, not LR or LC which bothers me. Flat impedance is actually quite important with these amps id guess. Its a downside,not necessarily a dealbreaker

Last edited:
I installed the ICE Inductors into a TPA3116D2 that’s mostly stock, just to check them out (again a pretty significant improvement over the stock inductors, even with the original filter parts) and now I’ll put them into my main test rig (on the left) and see how they stack up against the Bourns inductors (which are sounding very good).

Attachments

• i-8Vc8DCc-L.jpg
    i-8Vc8DCc-L.jpg
    134.2 KB · Views: 1,127
  • i-HHKNQcG-M.jpg
    i-HHKNQcG-M.jpg
    91.1 KB · Views: 1,115