Sure TPA3122D2 Mods

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been trying to improve the Sure TPA3122D2 amp with the swapping out of some of the caps for others. As I am new to this sort of thing I would appreciate your comments on the changes I have made thus far:
C16, 17, 19, 20 to 1uF 50V Rubycon
C7, 8, 10, 11 to 470uf 35v Nichicon
C1, 2 to 1uF 275v Panasonic film

Attachments

• 3122D2.jpg
    3122D2.jpg
    157 KB · Views: 532
  • sure.jpg
    sure.jpg
    352.3 KB · Views: 539
Experiment with different power supply caps and values like ELna Silmic, Panasonic KA, and Nichicon Muse. It's hard to tell what you are using from your pic. Don't know what the smaller caps are there, but if they are MKP or MKT I would suggest replacing with Wima film/foil FKP.

All should be available easily from mouser.

Usually the biggest ones :) Fit New triple the UF (at least) ones or the biggest you can possibly fit, physical size being the operative limitation, for any hopes of a wee bit better bass.
I'm guessing that any improvements resulted from Adding the 2 film caps.
This isn't the ideal choice amp board contraption for amazing performance potentials.
But you should certainly try, regardless.

Thanks Bare
I'm slowly working my way up to better boards as I learn.
I am going to replace the 4 1uF 50V Rubycon caps with 470uf 35v Nichicon so they are all the same. The first mods I made were to replace all 8 rail caps (is that the right name) :confused: with the Rubycons then I changed 2 of them for the Nichicon.

cheers

Put high quality film caps on LIN, RIN, and BYPASS (C1, C2, C14). This will be the biggest factor in improving sound quality. Replace C22 with a larger value electrolytic (100uF or so) and a small resistor (100-220 ohms) between VCC and C22. This will isolate the internal opamp stage from the switching stage.