LP-2020A+ mod thread - Page 12 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th March 2013, 05:37 AM   #111
aj982 is offline aj982  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift187 View Post
Really tidy work AJ! I suppose I should post some more photos, though it's not nearly as tidy as yours.
Thanks redshift, I pretty much followed your lead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
To AJ and RedShift

AJ, are you just using the original volume pot? or did you use the tone pot.. it looks smaller to me.

Also, what are those rca "plugs" you guys bought called..
I am using the volume pot and the RCA plugs are just cheap-o ebay ones. Search RCA terminal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Question:

Did you keep C2, the blue circle..

and Is there any stuff underneath the wires circled in the Green that you removed or replaced?
I didn't remove that cap. Check out this pic. Sorry the text is small. Oh, also, just to be safe, I isolated the pins on the volume pot with a dremel.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0501_S.jpg (693.3 KB, 315 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2013, 07:16 AM   #112
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thx redshift..

Say, I want to remove that ugly power relay.... for fear that it may be affecting the sound.

Is this a very bad idea?

I really don't see much of an "explosion" risk... due to the low power output of the amp and the fact that there's a fuse "in" the ac adapter.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2013, 07:20 AM   #113
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aj982 View Post
Thanks redshift, I pretty much followed your lead.



I am using the volume pot and the RCA plugs are just cheap-o ebay ones. Search RCA terminal.



I didn't remove that cap. Check out this pic. Sorry the text is small. Oh, also, just to be safe, I isolated the pins on the volume pot with a dremel.

Cool stuff... I still can't get over how cleanly you desoldered the smd..

Did you use solder braid? or soldapult? or some fancy autopump..



And the Dremel thing... Do you mean Isolate the pins from the PCB? as in you're only basically gluing the pot to the board with solder notches, but they don't connect to the ground except by wire?
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2013, 01:53 PM   #114
aj982 is offline aj982  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Cool stuff... I still can't get over how cleanly you desoldered the smd..

Did you use solder braid? or soldapult? or some fancy autopump..

And the Dremel thing... Do you mean Isolate the pins from the PCB? as in you're only basically gluing the pot to the board with solder notches, but they don't connect to the ground except by wire?
Thank you sir. I used my 15 year old Weller 40W. It's been through a lot but still does the job. After I removed each component, I followed up with a braid to clean it all up. I lifted some traces at the stubborn opamps but I don't plan on reinstalling them again so I don't care.

For the isolate thing. If you zoom into the pic I posted of the underside of the pcb, you can see where the copper traces coming into to the pot suddenly stop before they get to the pins. I still soldered the pot in place but the signal stays where the pins are so that the wires i used take all the signal. Does that make sense? I didn't want any rogue signals since I didn't really know what I was doing at first.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2013, 05:47 PM   #115
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Hey is there something particular about that spot you chose to "ground the pot" at the top..

where the LED used to be..

and what is the difference between "analog" ground and "digital-power" ground

which is which on the PCB
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2013, 06:17 PM   #116
aj982 is offline aj982  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Hey is there something particular about that spot you chose to "ground the pot" at the top..

where the LED used to be..

and what is the difference between "analog" ground and "digital-power" ground

which is which on the PCB
Hmmm. I have no clue about the digital power ground. I only chose that spot for the pot ground because I used the original location for the pot pins under the pcb. No specific reason.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2013, 06:30 PM   #117
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aj982 View Post
Hmmm. I have no clue about the digital power ground. I only chose that spot for the pot ground because I used the original location for the pot pins under the pcb. No specific reason.
Hrrrrrmmmmm......
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2013, 01:18 AM   #118
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I didn't bother cleaning mine with a desoldering braid after, I just remove the parts. Not as pretty, but just as functional.

As for analogue and digital ground, don't worry much about it. This PCB doesn't even remotely follow the recommended grounding in the TA2020 manual.
__________________
Tyler
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2013, 04:41 AM   #119
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Has any one tried m0ar-voltage?

Would it increase "bass" ?


my 12v 5amp came.. happy with it, well built for $8.99 shipped, does 12.6v unloaded. and it has a grounding pin wall side, luckily, much lower noise usually' with these than no ground pin 2 prong types.

jus. wonderin' f' shoulda' gotten a regulated 15v that could do 13.5v and swap some diodes.

Last edited by tp4tissue; 10th March 2013 at 04:44 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2013, 04:43 AM   #120
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Yes.

No.

The best thing you can do for more bass is increase the current your power supply produces. More voltage requires circuit components that are not on this board.
__________________
Tyler
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TA2024 SA-36 or LP-2020A Terrymm Class D 3 28th September 2012 04:34 PM
Help with Lepai LP-2020a+ ChrisChris Class D 5 14th September 2012 03:24 PM
Lepai LP-2020A+ Balance Problem Nightcry7 Class D 3 14th September 2012 03:16 PM
Lepai LP-2020 mod to include sub out rziebro Class D 1 12th February 2011 03:01 PM
X-LP Mod Journey pjpoes Analogue Source 2 11th March 2007 07:35 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:51 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2