Beginner wanting to build a subwoofer amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all

I am a beginner so please bare with me as I'll probably have a lot of silly questions

I have a car subwoofer which I want to use to make a home made subwoofer. Now I have been looking at amplifiers for it but can't seem to find the best solution. One idea was to use a car amplifier and power it from a computer PSU but then I would have too much equipment everywhere and I'd like to have the smallest foot print as possible.

I had a look through the store and with some help from the help desk on there I was suggested to take a look at the honey badger amp. Seems like a good DIY build and I'm hoping I can just use one of the boards to use a mono amp.

Would you suggest this is the best route for me for m requirements?

Also I had a look through the build guide for the honey badger and I couldn't see anything about the power supply side of things. I'm not very electronic minded but I like to build and do things my self and plus its a learning curve for me. Is there a simple guide out there to build a power supply for this amp with step by step instructions?

Hope someone can help

Thank you :)

Car components belong in the car not in the home. It's highly doubtful you can get anything useful out of it.

What you're looking for is actually not an amplifier design. It a design for a good subwoofer instead.
i disagree.
while most sub drivers made for the auto world are not suitable for home theater, some models are suitable and perfect for home use.

most car sub have high resonant frequency which render them useless for any low end frequency playback which are deemed important for home use. car sub are not expected to do any high output below <35Hz but home sub should extend to below 25Hz to have the proper cinematic feel.
high Fs car sub require a large enclosure to get adequate low frequency output.