Multi stage output digital bi amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First, I'm not an amplifier designer so I'm out of my element but this seems like a logical evolution to me. I hope this hasn't been posted or asked before. I see several threads relating to using multiple class D amplifiers in a system or using multiple stages to reduce THD but I have a different idea.

Since the output of a class D amplifier is driven by a clock, is there a way to separate frequency components before the output stage and add extra output stages for each speaker you intend to drive. One could possibly make a nearly zero phase sound system if the signal can be processed fast enough.

The idea is to have an input that is sampled at an appropriately high rate, say 400Khz or more. The sampling block would contain a discrete sample-and-hold for each output stage. For a two way speaker the amp would have two output stages driven off a single power supply. Each digital filter would then clock the appropriate output based on a comparator in the digital filter. I'm not a digital designer but it seems like it would be fairly easy to use a sample-and-hold --> bridge (DC analog of signal)--> comparator --> class D output.

The filter would need to take a sample then hold it. The comparator, synched to the sample clock, would then enable it's output based on the current signal. If the delta between current signal and previous sample is above a threshold this is a tweeter sample. If it's below a threshold this is a woofer sample. The comparator would enable it's output to drive the appropriate output stage in the same way a single channel class D does. I'm not even sure if this kind of circuit would work but the idea is to obtain an output drive signal based on the frequency of the input.