Fully Discrete Class D Amplifier (WIP) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th August 2012, 10:13 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Fully Discrete Class D Amplifier (WIP)

Hi I'm currently working on a fully discrete class D amplifier for my undergraduate senior design project as a Computer Engineer.

I have no prior experience to anything that relates to this topic so I thought I would create this thread for continous discussion and opinions on choices I make throughout this process of building the amplifier. A lot of help would be greatly appreciated!

Okay, so far based on researched a Class D amplifier looks similar to this (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...wm_amp.svg.png)

I was able to create a small differential amplifier to act as a comparator and a triangle waveform generator with all discrete components (See attachment.) So far my pspice looks promising and to be honest this is as far as i've gotten X_x. (WIP! ). Any opinions or advice? I'll try to somewhat, log my progress and hopefully be able to have fully functional discrete class D further down in time. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (119.0 KB, 1723 views)
File Type: jpg Capture2.jpg (191.3 KB, 1638 views)
Old 30th August 2012, 02:21 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Try philips
Old 30th August 2012, 02:43 AM   #3
stewin is offline stewin  Kenya
diyAudio Member

hi dakar in your project are you planning to go ucd or nonucd ?

you can check on sodvak he has many designs and class d 4 sure also try the below links you might learn a thing or two on fully discreet class d versions.

Philips UCD application note

my first ever discrete class d aud amp

diysmps

Pictures and circuits of my DIY class D and other projects.