Hifimediy T2 TK2050 and Mean Well in hifi separates chassis

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

First post here and complete newbie to the world of DIY audio (I have not yet built anything) so please be gentle... :eek:

I am considering purchasing a Hifimediy T2 TK2050 amplifier and using a Mean Well NES-350-27 27V DC 13A 350W regulated switching power supply. I am on a tight budget so was thinking of buying an extremely cheap hifi separates amplifier from eBay, removing all the components from the inside, and then using it as a chassis for the T2 and the Mean Well. I was wondering if this would be possible and whether I would also be able to use the speaker terminal binding posts, RCA female connector chassis sockets, the power socket and volume knob that would come with the eBay amplifier thus saving me from actually having to purchase these separately and having to customise the chassis in order to fit these parts. If this is possible will it have any affect on the overall audio quality of the finished amplifier and are there any features in particular that I should be looking for when purchasing the amplifier from eBay?

I also noticed the Mean Well power supply has a built-in cooling fan so was wondering whether airflow would be a problem?

I'm sorry for all the questions but I am a complete newbie, with no experience whatsoever. I have done a lot of research but needed some guidance before I commit to the purchase.

Thank you all in advance,

Moonie

Thank you Leejin for your reply. I was only thinking of purchasing the chassis from eBay not the actual Hifimediy T2 PCB board.