Can a D class give DC output?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,
I am new to D class stuff, so forgive me if the question is stupid.
I have an application where I need to drive a speaker-similar load (1 Ohm ) with a sine wave of about 5-10 KHz constant frequency. The problem is that the mean value of the sine get shifted up or down so there is a good DC content in output. Peak to peak values never exceed 50 V either side.
Actually we are using straight class B amplifiers (something like 10 TO3 pairs). Would it be possible to do it more efficiently with a class D?

A class D amplifier is bipolar SMPS with a wide bandwidth control loop.

...means basically, yes. But take care with supply rail pumping.
Solution a) Go for bridged configuration or a full bridge design.
Solution b) If you need the load between amp out and GND then use an unbridged amp, but power the classD amp from an SMPS with synchronous rectifiers.

P.S.
Note that class D amps do have an superimposed HF ripple on the output.
Usually in the range between 300mVrms...1Vrms. Typical frequencies of such ripple are ranging between 150kHz...500kHz.
If this is Ok for your load, then a high current class D amp should work to power it.

Thanks to all for the kind answers. The thing starts to lok feasible.Then:
When the mean gets shifted up and down, that means it is not DC, just AC with a low frequency.
Yeah, *very* low, in the sense that it can stay shifted (i.e. +10 V) for 1/2 hour. Prcatically a true RMS meter always reads a lot of DC on the output.
BTW, for me HF content is not a big deal, and THD = 1% is OK. As I said, we are using pure class B stuff, with some ugly crossover distortion.