How to reroute amp knob & dials? (Beginner project)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Please note that I'm a beginner without much technical knowledge!

I am working to quickly and cheaply modernize an old radio cabinet (pictures below). I'm currently running into a few roadblocks and it looks like this board can help me.

I've purchased a TA2020+ amp and I plan to hook it up to an apple airport extreme via 3.5 plug and stream music from my PC, iPhone, iPad etc. I also plan to have two speakers mounted in the lower left hand cabinet (see picture).

My main question: How can I reroute the knobs on the amp to the holes on the front of the unit (pictured)? I don't even know where to buy new knobs/dials or an on/off switch, much less how to extend them from the mounted amp to the face of the unit (pictured). As stated, I'm an amateur so details are helpful.

Secondary Question: What speaker(s) should I use to get a nice range of sound? I don't have much room if I use two speakers, only what will fit in a 12''x12'' space. You can see the space in the picture below and the frame from the 10'' speaker that was original to the unit. Anyone have some recommendations, size, type, brand etc? I have pretty limited funds for the project, max ~$30/speaker if two speaker, and ~$50 if one speaker?

Attachments

• Cabinet 1.jpg
    Cabinet 1.jpg
    115.2 KB · Views: 148
  • Cabinet 2.jpg
    Cabinet 2.jpg
    110.5 KB · Views: 145
  • Cabinet 3.jpg
    Cabinet 3.jpg
    100.3 KB · Views: 137
Taking the help of the bottom of this box, fix some L shaped bracket to the length of the holes and beyond. Drill the holes to match the existing holes to the size of your controls/pots. See that the control shafts r protruding out enough so that u can fix the knobs.

Gajanan Phadte