Sure Electronics 2x300W (TAS5630) & 2x250W (IRS2092)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
It's here

My TAS5630 based module and MW power supply arrived today.

No complaints yet. I'm not experienced enough to comment on the design of the module, but the build quality looks good (better than the the boards I gutted out of the LG HTIB that I'm using for a case).

As you can see from the attachment it's not properly mounted yet. I've tested it at low to moderate volume so far. No noise from the amp (even with my ear against the drivers) but the house isn't completely quiet right now.

I'm very happy with the sound so far.

I'm not so happy with the chassis from the old LG unit. With the base pressed to suit the original boards, it's going to be hard to do a nice job.

I'll be able to safely mount the PS and module for now though until I order a better case. Thanks to the diyaudio forums I've found a supplier of reasonably priced cabinets (& I'm now happy that I'll find a use for the amp module).

Attachments

• photo.jpg
    photo.jpg
    467.9 KB · Views: 1,648
@neilmc. Thats great news! Any issues with heat?

None yet. I've played with it enough to see that it can deliver plenty of power, but any more than 5 min at high level and every member of my family starts yelling at me :(

Given that it's only had short bursts at high output, I haven't caused the fan to speed up or the power supply fan to start up yet.

There is a small pop (nothing that will cause damage) when the amp powers down, but that may be something to do with the power supply. At lower listening levels, the power supply continues to run the amp for a couple of seconds when you pull the mains.

Most of the family went out for a while so I was able to run it at about 160wpc 4 ohm for about 15 min. (our daughter was the only one home. she kept walking in with her fingers in her ears frowning at me... )