Very new here and very excited.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello DIY forum.

I am happy I found my way here.

I am looking to get into separates in my home theater setup.

I have been looking around for amps and was going to settle for a emotiva.

but then i found the velleman kits and some gainclone amps. I have decided i would like to build my own amp, as I love the little vellemen kits you solder together.
plus i think it will be very rewarding and it is a process i can do one at a time.

Here is some stuff about me.
I studied cinematography. I work in the entertainment industry as a electrician. my use and knowledge of electric is different compared to what is needed here.

I learned how to solder in my high school years while working at a auto garage. I have loved it ever since.

I love knives, more importantly sharpening them, i have a set of synthetic Jap stones from 250 grit to 12k grit and then i have different leather strops and compounds. I recently got a 1x42 kalamazoo belt sander for speed sharpening, i love that too. Been sharpening for 12 years now since i took my first job in a sushi restaurant. If you guys need an edge on your blades let me know.

I love audio, going from my boom boom days in college, yes i had cerwin vegas, to a more refined and detail oriented sound i have recently finished my 7.1 theater game system of the polk audio monitor 70II cs2II and 4x monitor 40IIs. I completly rebuilt the XOs on each speaker with decent budget components, clarity cap PX, mundorf MOX resistors, and solen perfect lay air coils.
I know the monitor line is not considered high profile, but I have to build things as my money allows me. I felt they were a great launching platform into more detailed audio.