First attempt at making a boombox - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th November 2011, 03:01 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default First attempt at making a boombox

Hi,

Im just starting to make my first boombox, I am a motorsport engineer and university dj so know a moderate amount about this field but still have some questions. I have been studying the threads about other members boomboxs and they have really helped but im still stuck in a few places and if you could help me that would be great.

I am unsure on which speakers would be best to use, either pa speakers such as these: http://www.amazon.co.uk/LTC-Passive-...0418172&sr=8-4

or hifi speakers such as these:http://www.wharfedale.co.uk/Products...B/Default.aspx

From threads like saturnus' boominator thread i have decided to go with the amp6basic kit as it seems tried and tested and similar batteries to the ones he has used however i am slightly confused to whether these will allow me to be able to run the boombox when plugged into the ac mains when at home as well as used outside as a portable speaker?

Thank you for your help,

John
Old 6th November 2011, 12:27 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsharpe View Post
Hi,

Im just starting to make my first boombox, I am a motorsport engineer and university dj so know a moderate amount about this field but still have some questions. I have been studying the threads about other members boomboxs and they have really helped but im still stuck in a few places and if you could help me that would be great.

I am unsure on which speakers would be best to use, either pa speakers such as these: http://www.amazon.co.uk/LTC-Passive-...0418172&sr=8-4