Class D and low impedance load

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello folks,

Sorry but I have a question.

I just have several load's all in Parallel with the net load happens to be just 1 ohm. I am actually a Newbie in the class D filed, so my question is if class D amplifiers are good enough to drive a such low load? Or there is a problem while doing a such job? I know that for common class AB chips like LM3886T I can not drive the sad load other than adding several other chips all in Parallel. But please enlighten me about Class D amplifiers?

Thanks a bunch:)

I don't think it matters what class the amplifier is, a particular amp of any class will be optimised for a particular load and (usually) also able to drive lower impedances to some degree. And one ohm is not the load that amplifiers are generally optimised for.

Are you able to connect your loads in series/parallel and hence return to more standard impedances? That would ease the problems of finding a suitable amplifier greatly.

No problem with our amplifiers, for example (www.coldamp.com). In general, as long as you don't exceed the overcurrent limit, it is fine (this means that you will have max voltage excursion limited: for example, if the current limit is 20A (approx that in our S450 amplifiers), you will go to 20Vpeak (or 200Wrms) and then it will protect itself. Some other amplifiers are not designed to handle large currents, then you will run into problems. If you need more current, you will need a more powerful amplifier with higher current limit (as our S750), and limit the supply voltage.