ICEpower 50asx2 modules

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Yoke -

You need a phase inverter, something second nature for us old guys who are familiar with tubes. If you had a balanced input, you already have an inverted phase, but if you are doing single ended inputs, you'll want to build one. I built one from a dual op-amp. The input signal goes to the non-inverting input of one amp, and the inverting input of the other amp. I've got the amps setup for a gain of 2. so one amp output goes to channel input 1 and the other amp output goes to channel input 2 on the ICEPower amp.

Hello,

I have a question, if I understand correctly the 50ASX2 BTL needs, necessarily, one signal phase shifter to be used?

type ..Unbalanced to balanced stereo preamplifier for BTL ! | eBay

Hello everybody, I'm a newbie here so don't be harsh with me :)

I'm quite new to this audio segment and I have a question regarding the 50ASX2 module.

I failed to spot this module in the wild with volume control. I started to wonder whether having a volume pot on this module is even possible.

Could one of you pros shed some light on this topic please?

thanks

You could probably connect a 10k volume pot directly to the input and get sound, but the modules are designed to be driven from a low-impedance source. This usually implies some buffer in between the pot and the ASX to get the impedances right :)

/U.
what you think about input line transformer?
my friend gave me a line transformer Audio Tekne 2:1 , between m-audio 410 and 50ASX2, the result was fantastic, very rich sound!!!
is it possible to use OEP, lundhal, sowter transformer to put a low impedance signal into the 50ASX2 like the Audio Tekne working?

I dont think you can rewire a 50ASX2 stereo to become a BTL. The BTL module is missing som parts compared to the stereo module, at least there is only one output choke.