Rega/classdaudio/hifimediy?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I recently dragged an old Rega Elex down from the loft to set up a second system in the spare room and was dismayed to find the right channel seems to be crackling. It does it more on some inputs than others and I only have one source so that’s hooked up to the best of the bunch and with a little bit of fiddling with the input selector the crackle goes temporarily. I haven’t got the first clue how to fix it so I started looking for a cheap replacement and found a huge amount of info about t-amps which I’ve been mulling over since.

I’ve got no experience of diy audio or electronics but I’m willing to learn!

So my first question is would the amp below be a decent upgrade to the sound of the Elex or would I be better off trying to fix the dodgy channel?

Class D Audio CDA-254 Class D Audio Amplifier

The board on its own is pretty much the top of my budget for this project which leads me onto my second question (which I fear maybe bordering on ridiculous but humour me!)
If I did buy the board would it be possible to use the power supply from the Elex and simply control volume level from the source (PC with Emu 0404 card), or even somehow hook up the volume pot from the rega?

I’ve also had a look at the hifimediy products, they’re a bit cheaper so I could afford an amp and power supply but I like the idea of reusing what I can from the Rega if it’s at all possible.
If I went down the hifimediy route I would go for this amp:
Hifimediy|Hifimediy T1 ALPS sta510A 2*100W@8ohm amplifier

So having never heard either of these amps or even knowing if my plan for the classdaudio amp is possible I’m finding it quite hard to make a decision! Any help or advice would be much appreciated.