TPA3122 - not working. Nothing

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm VERY new to DIY amplifiers, but I did obtain a TI TPA3122D2 chip.
I've designed the board (attached) and powered it up using +15V DC.
Nothing happens. No hiss, no audio what so ever.

I'm wondering where I've made the error. I followed the reference design in TI's manual for the evaluation board, SLOU214A.pdf.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Brian

Attachments

• All Layers.png
    All Layers.png
    106 KB · Views: 359
  • Schematic-Amp.png
    Schematic-Amp.png
    50.2 KB · Views: 353
Sorry to be lazy and check it for You, but..
-> Shutdown pin has to be pulled to high
mute pin has to be pulled to low
in order to make it work.
Make sure You done it.

You might want to remove the resistors and just solder the wires directly to gnd / vcc .
2 volts is the tripping voltage, might not affect anything but still worth a shot.

SD and MUTE looks OK (amp should be ON with both switches/jumpers open). The power track going to pin10 looks way too thin, but should still work.

What's with C9 and C16 (should be inductors)?

I can't immediately make out any other mistakes that would keep it from working. The layout looks a bit poor; especially the ground fill.

I've built a handful of amps from these chips and they have all worked the first time. They seem almost bullet proof as well.

I used double sided board for mine, using the second side as a ground plane with no ground fill on the track side. Using a ground plane allowed the boards to be made without any jumpers.

Last edited:
C7 is *way* too far away from Pin1,Pin20. Remove your .1uF monolithic caps from their current locations. Solder .1uF mono caps right across Pin1-Pin20, Pin10-Pin11, and Pin7/8-Pin16/17.

Your power trace to PVCCR (Pin10) is too thin. Solder a 24G (or larger) wire from Pin10 to VCC.