DJ looking to build an odd project w/ class d amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th January 2011, 03:47 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default DJ looking to build an odd project w/ class d amp

I am a novice with board level electronics so please "dumb down" your response if possible.
I have a large PC case that i am wanting to build a carry around DJ system in (for small rooms). I am wanting to build my computer and amplifier into this case and mount my mixer on top.
I need to find the best way to produce around 300w@8ohm x 2 with light weight and low heat.
I am thinking there should be a good class d amp kit somewhere out there that would work well and not be too expensive.
I have some concern about shielding between the amp and pc but i would like to give it a try.

I am running 2 "large" dj systems now and they are serious overkill for some of my gigs and pulling a trailer everywhere gets expensive at the gas pump.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!
Old 19th January 2011, 02:20 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

If you want serious lightweight the class d with a SMPS would be best.

However half bridge class d doesnt mix well with SMPS.

I would be looking for a full bridge class d and a SMPS to match.

If you choose not to go with a SMPS then you will need a heavy transformer.
Old 23rd January 2011, 10:44 AM   #3
norazmi is offline norazmi  Malaysia
diyAudio Member

agreed, also you need many elec caps with linear power supply.
Old 23rd January 2011, 02:10 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

I would not want to tote a PC around if size and weight were and issue.
A laptop and powered speakers seems more practical for this application.
Old 23rd January 2011, 02:39 PM   #5
diyAudio Member