Hypex

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am currently investigating building a class D amp. There is such a vast range of kit out there is it difficult to know what to choose. There appears to be the budget models from China such as hfimediy then there are the really expensive ones from Italy. Hypex sits in the middle but are they worth the extra over the budget items?

Welcome Steve,

I have no experience with the china budget models (probably you mean the tripath stuff and such?) nor the expensive italy kit.

Hypex however, I've heard UCD400AD and UCD400HG, powered with a linear supply as well as SMPS.

Comparisons were done with a yamaha DSP-A2 receiver into B&W N804 and N805's, and also Denon 4306 into B&W N804 and 804S.

Biggest improvement from the Yamaha to the Hypex 400AD was dynamics (never runs out of steam) and a whole lot of detail from the N804.

Denon 4306 was a little better than the Yamaha. Again 400AD brought here mostly dynamics and just an inky black background to the music (more detailed placement, no listening fatigue, etc) - Switching to 804S speakers on the same setup brought improvement (obviously) which means the Hypex still has more to deliver - There was iron grip on the bass, no way the 804S are bass anemic as said in some reviews...

Then the 400HG modules running of a single SMPS on the 804S, even less fatiguing treble, very very detailed midrange, and most of all, a 3D feel to the music (usually called "depth" I suppose) with very clear placement of instruments. Going back to 4306 power after that brings less dynamics (going up in volume restrains the sound quickly), presentation becomes flat & the speaker boxes become apparent, still good speakers to listen to but those little details you hear in HQ systems is just gone.