Sure Electronics TA2024 questions...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

Sorry to post something that has already been discussed a ton, but I have read about 40+ pages on one thread and a few other shorter ones and saved about every wiring diagram I've come across and it's just way over my head. I think I had a better idea of what to do before I started poking around getting myself confused... I'm a total newbie to this stuff, so I'm hoping I can get some simplified answers.

I am waiting on two TA2024 amps that I ordered from Sure Electronics. My plan is to use two amps to power two pairs of 8 Ohm speakers. While I'd eventually like to learn how to mod them and do all sorts of cool stuff like you guys do, my current concerns are more basic just to get things up and running.

1) I want to add volume control pots to this setup. Would I be better off using one pot to control both amps, or using one pot for each amp? Does one method cause significant signal loss or distortion compared to the other? In either case, what type of pot(s) should I use and what is the ideal way to wire it? I've seen a couple illustrations and I still don't get it 100%. Do I have to remove C3 and C24 in order to wire in pots? I couldn't tell if this was just always mentioned at the same time or if it is required for the volume control installation.

2) I would like to run status LEDs to the outside of my box. I've seen a couple different suggestions of how to do this, but can't tell what the best way is. Is there any significant disadvantage to having the LED at all?

3) To wire in an on/off switch, do I just do so in line on the power supply, or is there somewhere on the board to do so? Can I just use the "Sleep" function as an on/off switch, or does it not work that way? If so, do I just wire in a switch between the Sleep post and the ground?