klipsch promedia ultra 5.1 BASH amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
i had the amp out and checked if the relay was working, and it is.
then i looked around for anything burnt and couldnt find anything.

so i was a little fed up and had the speakers connected to the computer, i was using trueRTA to send 30hz to the amplifier because the satellites work - just the subwoofer isnt working.

i turned the volume all the way up and nothing.. so i :nownow: and turned the subwoofer level all the way up with the main volume all the way up.
then i could hear some 'ticking' noise.
so i changed the frequency in trueRTA and listened to see if the 'ticking' also changed frequency, and it did.

so my question is.. what has died and am i foolish to believe that the 'ticking' i heard is a good indication to save the subwoofer?

i am not an electronics engineer.. i'm an infant hobbyist.
i have a klipsch promedia 2.1 sub and amp that has been working beautifully.
i changed the speakers to some 6.5 inch 2-ways that are 8 ohms and i havent had any problem other than the subwoofer box being tuned too high.

i would like to repair the ultra 5.1 amplifier rather than wait an eternity and people might possibly forget how to repair the amp.. or the details on the amplifier start to disappear, making a repair much more difficult.

i want to learn, and i also would like to use parts of higher quality than what klipsch would use if they repaired the amp.

is the situation above enough for someone to get a general idea of what is going on?

i seen this on the internet:
Klipsch Promedia V5.1 Amplifier Repair
but its all way too technical for me.
there are terms in the article that make my brain go cross-eyed with a lack of definition and comprehension.

55 views and not a single idea?

i dont know much of how an amplifier works, but i can tell you what bit i do know..