Newbie looking for help with a bottle build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Excuse the long (first) post, but I like to provide adequate detail for people to answer my questions.

I'm a cyclist and usually ride with headphones when I'm out by myself. Unfortunately, most organized rides don't let you do this. When doing the MS150 this past weekend, I noticed a few people with a bottle speaker as shown here: iH85: iPod portable speaker, iPod speaker systems, iPod audio system

They don't make a non-ipod model and I have no intention of buying an ipod just for 4-5 rides per year. It also seems rather expensive for what you get.

I'm a circuit newbie, and not a huge audiophile, but I do like quality. I've read plenty on these forums, so I think I've got a good starting point.

Here's my requirements:

1. I'm looking for the end product to fit in a bicycle water bottle cage. I'm thinking 2" or 3" PVC would be a good housing.
2. Run it off of standard AA or AAA NiMH batteries (already own, cheap, easy to recharge, and bike-friendly - IE no SLA!)
3. I'll handlebar mount my MP3 player or phone. I'd prefer to control the volume from the player.
4. Adequate volume, not enough to **** others off, but enough to hear going 20MPH.
5. Pretty clear sound, the linked speaker above seemed pretty muddled in a pack.
6. Keep it as a relatively cheap build (< $50 not including batteries which I already own))

Here are my two thoughts so far (but I'm open to other ideas).

Option 1:
3" PVC, about 6-8" long, grid-style drain plug, flat plug
Speaker: Tang Band W2-748SG 2" $16 10W/20W max, 8Ohms, 86dB 1w/1M
Amp: Arjen helder MKII TA2024 $14
Battery: (2) 2x2 AA holders, 8 Total, 9.6V
Various parts, jacks, battery holders, etc.

Option 2:
3" PVC, about 4" Long, maybe 2" PVC instead
Speaker: 2" Generic driver $2 5W RMS/10W Max, 8Ohms, 82.6dB 1w/1M
Amp: Arjen Helder 2x3 for battery application $10