LF: High Power Mono Reference Design - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th April 2010, 09:26 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default LF: High Power Mono Reference Design

Good afternoon all,

I am looking for a proven design, if only for the sake of interest, for a high-powered class D subwoofer amplifier. The general requirements would be:

- In the range of 750 to 1000 watts peak output power
- Stable with a 2 ohm load impedance ideally (4 ohms or less would be nice)
- For frequency response, a -3 dB lower knee of 10 to 15 Hz

For the purpose of this discussion, I will omit power supply requirements. Do any of you know of such a proven design? If not, would there be interest in a collaborative design of sorts? I am new to class D, and as such have no experience to offer. However, I have a background in electronics, and might be able to propose enough silly ideas to keep things interesting!

Jim
Old 7th May 2010, 01:59 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Good evening,

It would seem such a design is rare. Would there be value in working together, on an open-source design for such an application? Just for fun, here are some (newbie!) thoughts.

The design goals:
- low frequency extension (down to 15 Hz @ -3 dB would be nice)
- able to drive low impedance loads (4 ohms or less)
- high power output (750 W peak or greater into 4 ohms within usable BW)
- modest parts count if possible
- reasonable cost
- reliable

Compromises:
- THD (within reason, distortion content is not as important)
- physical size (groups of output devices, for example)
- efficiency if need be (current sharing resistors added if needed, for example)

Just to get the ball rolling, here is a rough draft of the building blocks.