New self oscillating post filter feedback topology...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

I m quite new here but quite interested in this topic.
My history: I have a masters degree in power electronics, about 10 years experience in power supply engineering. Starting many years ago, I 've done some SIMETRIX work on sigma delta self-oscillation with feedback before filter, built one 5kW subwoofer amp based on this very easy control topology using 1200V APT IGBTs at 600V bus / 20kHz (still working - pics avail.), then come over to play around with UCD style post filter feedback control to try to get a feeling on how it would behave on things like step
response, no load, slew rate etc.... in transient sim...

..attached you can find "my approach" to UCD in "block style" - not on component level - in SIMETRIX. Its a 180V bus powered full bridge using 200V components at ~470kHz capable of giving >3kW at 4 Ohm, much like UCD 2K. FETs in SIM are simplified by switches (20mOhm / 1MOhm), series schottky is missing (no effect for control loop analysis, but for switching losses), antiparallel diode would be 200V ultrafast or 300V carbide in reality. S9 and R4 are only a replacement for a comparator so R4 voltage will be
square either 0 or 12V. R10, C5 will give about 200 ns to simulate delay between comparator inputs crossing and actual bridge nodes moving. L3 / R2 is the load impedance to play around with - can be ohmic or "loudspeaker" or passive X-over network or....
Result: works in simulation.

Next step:
-> I invented some new control topology that I will call self oscillating Class D (SOCD). <-