ta2020 New caps - now I get a buzz in tweeter - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th January 2010, 01:55 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default ta2020 New caps - now I get a buzz in tweeter

Yes, I'm a newbie,

I put new caps (audiocap theta 2.0) in my ta2020 project and now I have a mild buzz in the tweeters (very effecient Lascalas with JBL 2404h tweeters so the buzz is accentuated). The buzz is there at all volumes and with or without program material.

I mounted the caps with short leads on the board side but ran the other side straight to the potmeter. Maybe I'm getting interference here? unshielded wires picking up Rf? I don't know.

Also, If I ground one of the unused RCA negative rings on the back (I do have a selector switch) to a true ground (another amp that's plugged in but not turned on and has a three prong plug) the buzz goes away almost completely. My head is telling me I lose just a little detail by doing this though, although maybe I just think I hear this?

I remember the TA2020 being totally silent before I think? Do I have to reset the DC offset with the new caps? I didn't think that I would have to. Maybe I've created a ground loop by not hooking the caps to the board on both sides and using the original input wires (doesnt make sense)?
Old 12th January 2010, 07:30 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Could be due to the not-so-ideal RF properties of your cap. What happens if you change back to the old one ?

Regards

Charles
Old 12th January 2010, 07:51 AM   #3
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator