Quick question: multi-amping/amp "quality"

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Quick question (I hope):

I'm new to this and I'm thinking of building a bi- or tri-amped two- or three-way speaker.

Now, I've seen the class D amps in this section and it seems like a great value. I'm a bit unlcear though as to the main differences between let's say a Hypex amp and the way cheaper ones. I'm assuming the differences are quality, energy efficiency and perhaps longevity. But I simply don't know.

What I'm wondering is if building a separate amp per driver allows me to use the cheaper amps and still get the same quality as a more expensive one. It seems to me that many people praise bi-/tri-amped speakers so much that it should be a trade-off that's worth it to "step down" to a cheaper amp (assuming of course that one can't afford several of the more expensive kinds... which I can't).

Is my thinking right on this one or am I a complete moron (trick question, I know I'm a moron.... but is the thinking correct)?

Quick question (I hope):

I'm new to this and I'm thinking of building a bi- or tri-amped two- or three-way speaker.

Now, I've seen the class D amps in this section and it seems like a great value. I'm a bit unlcear though as to the main differences between let's say a Hypex amp and the way cheaper ones. I'm assuming the differences are quality, energy efficiency and perhaps longevity. But I simply don't know.

What I'm wondering is if building a separate amp per driver allows me to use the cheaper amps and still get the same quality as a more expensive one. It seems to me that many people praise bi-/tri-amped speakers so much that it should be a trade-off that's worth it to "step down" to a cheaper amp (assuming of course that one can't afford several of the more expensive kinds... which I can't).