What does this do?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ok i've been fiddling with amplifiers for about 3 years now, just replacing various components which are clearly blown (normally black or the like.) I know the names of the components, it's just sometimes i feel unsure of what they do.

I mean you see capacitors everywhere and zener diodes. But why them?

My main question is:
Can you tell me what these few things do?
All ref. this pic:

http://ampguts.realmofexcursion.com/Powerbass_XA-3000D/inside2.jpg

1. The first (from the left) set of 12 fets (6 either side of the board), bound with 6 clamps to the sink.
Also the further right on either side of these is the same and have 3 legs but 2 of the legs are soldered together? Why is this?

2. What is purpose of the 8 caps around the fan. They are stabilising the voltage i assume? Part of a smoothing/rectification ciruit?

3. The board that sticks up by the 3 toroids?
I think it has a name? smcc board? Something like that.

I know it's a lot of questions. But if someone could please give me a run down of the various parts of the board and what they do i would greatly appreciate it!
I'll ask about the output side in a minute.

If anyone has any links or anything of the basics of class D design, please would you send me them.

Thank you.

Hi

This is car amp so:

1.Those are output mosfets.
Those that have 2 pins together are diods, rectifiers... makes DC from AC...

2. To make DC you need rectified AC, and capacitor(s) make it solid DC.

3. I'm not really sure what you mean, but those toroids are output inductors of this amp. board is called PCB, if you wanted to know that, not sure..

And BTW, this is output side...

Well you know, 3000w amp, if this is true output, and can hold overall eff. of say 85% and pretty low voltage, say 12v for this amp, it would have to be 300A..