UM10155 from NXP - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th June 2009, 02:10 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default UM10155 from NXP

Hello!

I'm an electronics student, and I'm currently trying to learn about switching amplifiers, namely the phase-shift controlled self-oscillation amplifier, UM10155.

I tried to mathematically quantify the variation of switching frequency along different input values, but as it seems to me, I would need to consider different harmonics, affected differently by the feedback branch.

Is there any way to quantify it?

Second, what's the better way to decrease out-of-band (>20kHz) noise? Increase zero-input sampling frequency?

How should the frequency change with the input? Is it good to let the sampling frequency change a lot? From delta-sigma modulation, it seems crucial, but what about UcD?

Finally, I would like to know why does UcD uses an oversampling rate as low as 20? Why doesn't it work at higher rates?

Best Regards,

Manuel Duarte
Old 9th June 2009, 06:59 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

It would be very useful for you to get a SPICE simulation program to help you understand the workings of a UCD-style amplifier. As I'm sure you realise, the various elements in the feedback loop interact with each other in complex ways, and being able to see of effects of component value changes in SPICE will prove to be informative.

If you have got good quality inductors and low-inductance capacitors in the output filter, then you should not have any out-of band noise problems. Good pcb layout helps here of course.