UM10155 from NXP

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

I'm an electronics student, and I'm currently trying to learn about switching amplifiers, namely the phase-shift controlled self-oscillation amplifier, UM10155.

I tried to mathematically quantify the variation of switching frequency along different input values, but as it seems to me, I would need to consider different harmonics, affected differently by the feedback branch.

Is there any way to quantify it?

Second, what's the better way to decrease out-of-band (>20kHz) noise? Increase zero-input sampling frequency?

How should the frequency change with the input? Is it good to let the sampling frequency change a lot? From delta-sigma modulation, it seems crucial, but what about UcD?

Finally, I would like to know why does UcD uses an oversampling rate as low as 20? Why doesn't it work at higher rates?

Best Regards,

Manuel Duarte

It would be very useful for you to get a SPICE simulation program to help you understand the workings of a UCD-style amplifier. As I'm sure you realise, the various elements in the feedback loop interact with each other in complex ways, and being able to see of effects of component value changes in SPICE will prove to be informative.

If you have got good quality inductors and low-inductance capacitors in the output filter, then you should not have any out-of band noise problems. Good pcb layout helps here of course.

Becuase the PWM mark-to-space ration produced by the self-oscillating modulator in a UCD design is not clocked, it doesn't suffer from the quantisation errors that a clocked design running at a low frequency would have. You can make a UCD amp run at 1MHz if you really want to, but don't expect the audio performance to be any better than one running at 350kHz.