TA2020 or TA2024?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a total newbie to the whole Tripath/T-amps thing, and I'm feeling bewildered! I've looked through the FAQ, but these forums are more for DIY mod types (and I'm in awe of what you guys do!)

What's the difference between the TA2020 and TA2024? From what I've read, it seems that the TA2020 is newer and better than the TA2024? The TA2020 is maybe a little cleaner, more powerful. Is that right? (I understand we're talking about low power amps here).

I've read great things about the Trends model. And then I see things like the Topping MK3 TA2024 on Ebay, and it looks pretty good... but is it?

And what about the Lepai TA2020-020, V3.1? Do the bass/treble options detract in any way from the cleanness of the audio produced by the amp?

Is there something better I should be looking at under $75?

Last but not least... are my speakers efficient enough for a class D amp?

SPECS:
Drivers: 6.5" low frequency, 1" silk dome high frequency
Crossover: 2.5 kHz, 2nd-order filters (12 dB per octave)
Frequency Response: 45 Hz - 18 kHz, ±3 dB
Power Handling: 120 watts program, 200 watts peak (using EIA- 426A method)
Nominal Impedance: 4 ohms
Sensitivity: 88 dB SPL @ 1 watt and 1 meter on axis

...I'm looking for a small amp that's good to go out of the box for under $75, preferably with RCS inputs and a power switch on the front. I wouldn't know how to mod it. I don't want to have to do more than maybe go to Radio Shack to pick up a power supply for it (if it doesn't come with one).

I have an amazing firewire Apogee D/A converter connected to my Mac Mini, and I need an amp to drive my speakers. To be honest, the amp doesn't even need a volume knob - but if it has one... that's fine.

"88dB/1W/4ohm...
Too low for a TA2024 if you are more than 1 meter away from your speakers."