Which Tri Path Amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th March 2009, 12:25 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Which Tri Path Amp

hi can any body tell me if a tri path amp would sound better than say a nad 3020 and how much i would have to spend to get good detail a nice sound stage and good base i was thinking something ready bult that just needed a case and power supply im not that good with electronics but can use a soldering iron allso best place to buy one i have seen some but thay are only rated at 10 watt into 8 oms is this enoughf thanks for any help steve
Old 28th March 2009, 02:39 AM   #2
Davet is offline Davet  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Need more Info

The Tripath amps provide clean, detailed sound with broad and deep soundstages. I went from a 100 WPC solid state power amp to a modified 10 watt Tripath. I was pleasantly surprised by the sound. I found even with this low wattage I was able to recreate a life like sound imagery in my listening room. My speakers were designed to be pushed by SET amps. With the quality of the sound I found I was able to lower the volume on the 10-watt Tripath (much to my spouses's satisfaction).

The assembled 10-watt Tripaths amps are so moderately priced; you could buy one and listen to determine whether 10-watts meets your listening requirements. In the case you are not satisfied with the sound of the low power amp you may opt for a Tripath amp with more power. However, you may modify the 10- watt to get more umph from the amp without ,more watts.