Class D - output LPF - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th February 2009, 04:32 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Class D - output LPF

Hey all,

I am new to audio and am following a reference guide from IR for class D audio.

Attached is an image detailing my inquiry.

My two questions are:

1. Why bother with the inductive LPF at the output, if the speaker itself represents essentially an inductance and resistance in series?

2. Assuming 1. is debunked, what type of inductor should I choose? I usually notice people use large circular airgap inductors in such power applications.

Thanks in advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg lpf.jpg (77.9 KB, 930 views)
Old 16th February 2009, 08:25 AM   #2
markhu is offline markhu  China
diyAudio Member

Actually, that is the demodulation filters.all class D need this .
That used be retuned the Analogue signal.
The inductors need enough current.
Old 16th February 2009, 08:51 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

If you send the unsmoothed switching waveform straight into the speaker leads you will probably knock out every radio and TV for quite a distance.
Old 16th February 2009, 09:27 AM   #4
Banned

There are several class D chip amplifiers out there which are intended to operate directly into speakers, e.g. MAX9703/4.

The principal critical factors in the feasability of such designs are power, frequency, spread spectrum clock (if any), and lead length from amp to speaker. As already pointed out, you can create a load of EMI if you don't know what you're doing. In the worst case this is a criminal offence in most countries.

w
Old 19th February 2009, 01:40 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Fair enough, I realize the EMI could be an issue but I am more just thinking theoretically.