New to Class D design, please help!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone, I am new to the forum and I am trying to build a class D amplifier for a school project. I plan on using this chip from IR, the IRS2092.

I have a very good understanding of electronics, but I am an audio newbie. I feel confident that I can get this amplifier working, but I am having trouble finding a good starting point.

The specs of my amplifier will be:

half bridge, 2x50W into 2 4ohm load stereo
+/- 35V rail
Through hole design

I am using the 2092 chip and the recommended IRFI4212 dual MOSFET. I have been looking at the app notes and reference designs from IR, specifically the IRAUDAMP7. https://ec.irf.com/v6/en/US/adirect/ir?cmd=catProductDetailFrame&productID=IRAUDAMP7D

I like this chip because it is self oscillating and has self PWM, but I am a beginner and I am open to suggestions for any design change. My professor recommended this chip to me, but warned me that it is very delicate and can be somewhat hard to get working. Are there any better chips out there for a beginner to use, that would be more user friendly? I also plan on designing a PCB for this amplifier.

Does anyone have any extra tips or tricks in setting this amplifier up for a breadboard/PCB? I heard the current limiting needs to be turned off in order to get this amplifier to work....is there anything else?

I am stumped on where to begin with this amplifier, because out of all the resources that IR has for this chip, the recommended circuit varies greatly between them. I cannot find an explanation for some of the components, and how the values were calculated.

Any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks

Workhorse said:
Isn't your professor a little dumb item??