Would like to try and build a Tube pre/Hypex UcD 400 power unit for Light weight bass - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th January 2009, 10:04 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Would like to try and build a Tube pre/Hypex UcD 400 power unit for Light weight bass

Hi All,

Names Robbie from RIM Custom Basses in the UK, Im a custom Bass guitar builder. Ive been looking at the amps coming out for bass guitars and at the moment everyone seems to be going into Class D stuff. I would like to try and build a 400/700w bass amp using a 6SN7 Tube preamp/Hypex Ucd 400/700 Power module with SMPS from Hypex also to keep it light. I would like to maybe have a Volume and tone control on the front end to keep it simple.

Any info or help on this would be great, as im a newbee to building amps. It looks doable and could be fun

Cheers,

Robbie.
Old 31st January 2009, 04:35 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

You're on the right track.
If you go to Hypex.nl and pick the UCD 400 there will be a manual.
Read the other thread in this forum about availability of SMPS for it.

You will end up with a high power, reliable, lightweight, super low distortion amp.

What's the tube for?
Old 31st January 2009, 02:02 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I was thinking the valve front end would give it some extra warmth, this company makes there own tube preamp

http://www.lowenddistribution.com/lowendpreamp.htm

If not valve could you help me with any other types of preamps with maybe just Volume and tone controls.

Cheers,

Robbie.
Old 31st January 2009, 03:35 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

I'm sure that since you hand build custom basses they already have whatever you're looking for in "warmth"

There's an excellent book here:
http://www.thatraymond.com/downloads...ttala_v1.0.pdf