a few questions about this TA2020 board - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th January 2009, 01:34 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default a few questions about this TA2020 board

Just got done building a pair of Zigmahornets. Now trying to get an amp to drive them.

I bought an assembled TA2020 board from ebay. It's the same board as in this:
http://www.hllyelectronics.com/html/...tter_1_97.html

The problems are:

1. One of the capacitors (the green one on the top right of the first picture of the board) had a broken leg. What's left is probably too short to be re-soldered onto the board. For a complete newbie like me, I'd appreciate some spoon feeding on what to replace it with. I'm guessing it's a "polyester film" type. It says "104K", then under that "1HD(N)" (N is in a circle). The schematic the seller has on his site shows 104 at this spot. I gathered this is a 100,000pF. I looked on partsexpress.com, but the caps there also have a voltage rating. Not only that, but there are also electrolytic ones. So the questions are 1a) what can I replace this cap with (i.e., what voltage), and 1b) should I stick with polyester film, or would electrolytic be better?

2. While we're on the subject of the capcitor, can anyone suggest possible upgrade to what's on the board? The big cap is an Elna 2200uF. Would this be a good one, or are there better choices?

3. For input, the board has a "standard 2.54mm pcb board connector" (the white part in the bottom right corner of the 3rd picture). Where can I find a plug that can fit? Also, there are three pins, IN1, IN2, and GND. I suppose I'd connect the R+ and L+ to the IN1 and IN2, and R- and L- both to GND? If not, what's the right connection?

TIA for your help!!

Andy