diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Class D (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/class-d/)
-   -   Best bang for buck T-amp? Trends, sureelectronics, 41Hz? (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/class-d/130557-best-bang-buck-t-amp-trends-sureelectronics-41hz.html)

pinkfloyd4ever 29th September 2008 10:26 AM

Best bang for buck T-amp? Trends, sureelectronics, 41Hz?

Or should I say best fidelity for the buck?(including an amp's potential for improvement with modding) I'm putting together my first real speaker setup, and it's gotta be on a budget since I'm a college student. I bought some Insignias and I have decent DAC that I use with headphones (the Alien if anyone here is familiar with it). So the amp is the last thing I need, and from what I've gathered a T-amp is the best way to go hi-fi on a budget. I know the 41Hz is totally DIY and the sureelectronics is best with some modification, and that the Trends can be improved alot with some mods. I wouldn't call myself a seasoned DIYer, but I have built 2 CMoys , 2 Alien DACs, and 2 Millett Maxes, so I'm fairly confident with a soldering iron.

I tried searching but everything kept coming up with no results?????

Buckapound 29th September 2008 12:38 PM

I think the fact that you can't find a lot of strong opinions about which is best here on these discussions reflects the fact that people are generally satisfied with all the small Tripaths, once they're modified with proper input and power reservoir caps.

So, the choice comes down to build or buy, with a case or find your own, etc.

For my money, the 4i Hz amp 6 is great for an easy build and with a little more power than the SI, Trends, etc. Or, the amp 32 has a similar sound (identical?), but being all surface mounted parts is a good deal more challenging and requires a sharp-pointed iron and equally sharp eyes, but the price is even righter. With either of those you get to build your own case in a way that will amaze and astound your friends.