UCD180 st or UCD180 hd ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,
I've had a notion for some time to build a stereo poweramp using UCD180 modules.
Im no electronic expert but i've built some kit's before and want to exercise my soldering iron once again, probably a winter project now though.
Before i go any further i've a couple of questions id like answered if possable.
I previously looked at these modules but i see they now have upgraded versions, the HD with increased cost as standard.
Is the extra cost for the HD version worthwhile, does it make an easily noticable difference - or is it a waste of money in a mid range system?
Also i used to own a tripath amp made by britt company sonneteer, i sold it after only two months as i found it quite uninvolving, great detail but no emotion/atmosphere.
I've since used valve amp's mainly but would like an alternative which doesnt serve as a room heater during the summer.
Will i find the UCD modules better in the boogie factor or should i forget about them and stick with the glowing bottles?
Sorry if this has been previously discussed to exhaustion and i've missed the relevant posts.

Disabled Account
Joined 2008
That site is more of a midnight madness blowout bonanza picture fest that seems to lack the technical expertise at Hypex. It might be OK to shop there but if you're after real information you should always look towards the source.

I was looking for a link in this forum to the post Jan Peter of Hypex made which detailed a few of the differences but it seems to have been moved.

The HG version has a choice assortment of high quality and very good sounding audio grade electrolytic capacitors. They use the LM4562 OPA with higher quality resistors. The base regulator is modified and improved over former revisions of the 400 and there is the further option of additional HXR regulators for either module.