Help with 41Hz AMP4 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st July 2008, 11:38 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help with 41Hz AMP4

I'm having problems with an AMP4. I posted the following on the 41Hz forum a couple days ago, but no responses. Hoping someone here can help. Thanks,
Mike
---------------------------
I've assembled my AMP4 kit (it went quickly, about 1 day total), but I'm having some problems getting it to work correctly, and am looking for suggestions. I am new to surface mount components, but I have many decades of thru-hole component experience - I build/modify lots of audio equipment.
The symptoms are as follows:
1. The DC offset varies all over the place, and although the two 5K pots affect offset, it is very unstable - it moves from wherever I set it (from tens to hundreds of mV, sometimes wandering to over a full volt).
2. The amp works (a bit): it amplifies a sine wave, but on a scope, the 1Khz test signal output from the amp has a smaller much higher frequency signal superimposed (maybe a couple hundred KHz).
3. The Q10 heatsink (9v regulator) is very hot - I can barely touch it (no other chips are hot).
Other info:
1. The 9V, 5V and main (28VDC) power supplies all measure fine.
2. The relay operation works fine, and no fault LEDs are lit.
3. I've fluxed and re-soldered all of the parts on the board, including both chips, a couple times, to ensure good joints.
4. I've visually inspected both sides of the board with a 10X loupe (a few times now), and see no bad joints or bridges.