Very basic Trends monoblock question!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all!

I'm a complete noob to this so here's a simple question. (And yes, I had search of the forum, but I could have missed something!) If I want to get two Trends TA10.1's to make 'monoblocks' will this work?:

Replace ONE of the RCA jacks with a high quality one. Then run TWO wires from the RCA jack, and solder one to the rearmost wire of EACH of the input caps. Remove all four of the jumpers. Then connect one output to the HF binding posts on the speaker, and the other output to the LF binding posts.

1. Is there anything that I'm missing?

2. Will 'monoblocking' the amps provide me with twice the POWER of just using a single stereo one? (I realise this should only provide me with an incremental increase in volume and hopefully headroom on my 91dB efficient speakers.)

3. Will this actually provide me with more significantly more power than just using one channel of each amp to power each speaker? (ie. Just connecting the preamp L channel to the L RCA of an amp, then just connecting the L output to the speaker, and the same with the R for the other amp.)

Sorry about the very basic nature of the questions! :xeye:

Hi from Australia!
Taz. :)

Ahh, basic questions. I can handle that.

It sounds like you're talking about bi-amping, right? With one channel going to the speaker's "HF" binding posts and the other to the "LF" ones.