Where do I get Tripath Chips???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm relatively new to this chip amp phenomena. I'm wanting to setup manufacturing yet another Tripath amp. I have had no response from Tripath or their distributors to my emails. Are they still operating?
If so how do I get a supply of the devices? Can anyone help with a supply?

Look for another line of work

Read some of the other threads. Tripath has gone out of business. Cirrus Logic bought the intellectual property. When I asked the Cirrus Logic guys at the Audio Engineering Society show in New York in early October what their plans were, they were unsure of whether they would make any of the Tripath chips. They were going to introduce the technology into their own chips. They said they would not preclude making some of the TriPath chips but there were no plans now that they knew about.

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2005
When I hear a response like that, I get the feeling that they will probably choose to produce some of the best selling chips under their own name that will be pin for pin replacements for the existing Tripath parts and will discontinue the rest of the Tripath lineup. Who knows what else they'll come up with.

Cirrus

Actually Cirrus has some serious pro quality devices. I am designing products right now with Cirrus Cobranet/DSP chips and using Cirrus's top of the line CODEC. And we are very impressed with the sound quality.

Bear in mind I am taking an audio signal, encoding it in the A/D part of a CS42516, running it through a DSP, converting it back to analog with the CS42516 and then amplifying it with a 1 KW ICE module and I am still getting .004% THD+N at a 48KHz sample rate. And a 114db dynamic range.

At 96KHz, the THD+N is about .003% measured on an Audio Precision.