Introduction and Thanks

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I would like to introduce myself and give a huge thank you to everyone who shares their knowledge here. I am relatively new to the world of audio DIY but have been anxious to get more involved. I have thought long and hard about building an SE tube amp but sourcing parts (output transformers), and my lack of knowledge have been a stumbling block. That's when I stumbled across the Class D forum and thought I would try out the t-amp mods. Long story short: I bought an SI t-amp (rev D), performed the "stealth" mods, replaced the on board cap, and powered it with an old PC PSU. All I can say is, DAMN! This thing sounds great. Don't get me wrong I still want to build an SE, but first (rubs hands together), more efficient speakers! I think this is the beginning of a great DIY journey.

Some photos of the amp are posted at:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dougkeener/

I will be posting more photos soon.

Doug,

You are on the slippery slope now and there's no going back! :D

The amazing thing (to me anyway) about digital amps is that the ones I've heard sound more "tube-like" than any other amp except tubes. Interesting that a technology so far removed from vacuum tubes seems to re-create much of the sound.

For a tube SE amp consider Mikael Abdellah's KT88 SE. I've built it and it sounds great. Not a lot of parts and a simple circuit. Mine produce about 7.5 watts per channel so not far removed from a t-amp.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Welcome to the forum, Doug. And the the fun world of class-d.

As Sherman says, it's a slippery slope. :p I've been wanting to build a tube amp for years, but these darn little Tripath critters won't let me!

Have fun, enjoy the amps. Find or build some efficient speakers and enjoy the music.

Status