STKs / TDAs /STAs - Heat - Help me! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd February 2007, 08:33 AM   #1
Rodo is offline Rodo  Argentina
diyAudio Member

Question STKs / TDAs /STAs - Heat - Help me!

Hi. Im new in DIY.
I apologize because my English.
I made a lot of amplifiers with STKs (Class AB). For instance I used STK401-120 with very good results. Problem I have with all ICs of this kind is the very large heatsinks they need especially over 50W RMS. So, anybody tested any chip or chipset that uses small heatsinks (or none) with similar specifications than STK?
Obviously Class D amplifiers could be a solution. But is there another one? In case not I will begin with class D technology but it seams to be not easy.
All I need is very lo THD+N, >=80 W RMS@8ohms x 2 (or 2 x mono) and full bandwidth. Also 4/6/8 ohms load options would be useful.
Thanks in advance, Rodolfo
Old 23rd February 2007, 01:42 PM   #2
male is offline male  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Re: STKs / TDAs /STAs - Heat - Help me!

Quote:
Originally posted by Rodo
I made a lot of amplifiers with STKs (Class AB). For instance I used STK401-120 with very good results. Problem I have with all ICs of this kind is the very large heatsinks they need especially over 50W RMS.
What's wrong with large heatsinks? Is space a consideration? Consider using active cooling (eg. fans). Most chip-amp builders use much larger heatsinks than necessary anyway. STK's, as used in TV's (for both audio and video-convergence amps), are often run very hot indeed--enough to fry eggs on. Most models have build-in thermal protection, so if the chip doesn't shut down on its own then you can be pretty sure it isn't overheating.
Old 23rd February 2007, 03:50 PM   #3
diyAudio Member