Gainclone Grounding - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th February 2007, 08:21 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Gainclone Grounding

Hi

I am fairly new to building amplifiers so i thought the best way to get started would be to build a Chipamp I am using the LM3875 and the circuit from this site http://www.geocities.com/rjm003.geo/...o/diy_gc.html.

I am currently designing the circuit board and considering the posibilities of grounding. I know that power ground and signal ground should be kept seperate and then connected with a single peice of wire. Is it alright to keep power and signal ground seperate on the PCB and then connect them with a single track.

What confused me is this websites board layout , he states good grounging is critical and then in his board layout, signal ground and power ground are the same.

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 9th February 2007, 10:45 AM   #2
BWRX is offline BWRX  United States
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

Grounding is critical to most any application, not just chip amps. The key to doing a good PCB layout is to understand where the high currents (output) will flow and where the low currents (input) will flow. Both signal and power ground should be at the same potential, so they will need to be connected at some point. However, you don't want noise from the high current ground "polluting" the signal ground point.