Gainclone Grounding

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

I am fairly new to building amplifiers so i thought the best way to get started would be to build a Chipamp I am using the LM3875 and the circuit from this site http://www.geocities.com/rjm003.geo/rjmaudio/diy_gc.html.

I am currently designing the circuit board and considering the posibilities of grounding. I know that power ground and signal ground should be kept seperate and then connected with a single peice of wire. Is it alright to keep power and signal ground seperate on the PCB and then connect them with a single track.

What confused me is this websites board layout , he states good grounging is critical and then in his board layout, signal ground and power ground are the same.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2005
Grounding is critical to most any application, not just chip amps. The key to doing a good PCB layout is to understand where the high currents (output) will flow and where the low currents (input) will flow. Both signal and power ground should be at the same potential, so they will need to be connected at some point. However, you don't want noise from the high current ground "polluting" the signal ground point.