question on caps - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th December 2006, 06:13 PM   #1
impsick is offline impsick  United States
diyAudio Member

Default question on caps

ok im new to this, so my head is full of crap right now from trying to soak up all that i read.
anyways say a project calls for a 25v 100uf cap and all i have is a 16v 100uf. or say it calls for a 50v 100uf, and all i have is a 50v 470uf. how much would this effect the project, and is there like a rule or margin we should stay within?

if someone can clear that up for me i'd appreciate it.
Old 5th December 2006, 06:23 PM   #2
Vikash is offline Vikash  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

You're asking for trouble if you don't know what you're doing and start substituting higher voltage caps with lower ones. At best you will lower the life of the cap, and at worst they will explode and can potentially hurt your body parts!

The second question is pretty daft and it should be obvious that you can't randomly substitue values with what you have available unless you really know whay you're doing. Remember that caps have tolerances so if you're using a cap value that is quite close than it may not have much impact. In your case, I would stick to the design until you're famililar with why a particular value has been chosen.
"The human mind is so constituted that it colours with its own previous conceptions any new notion that presents itself for acceptance." - J. Wilhelm. (But I still think mine sounds better than yours.)
Old 5th December 2006, 06:31 PM   #3
Nordic is offline Nordic  South Africa
diyAudio Member

Caps often form filters in combinations with neighbouring resistors/impendances, which are very value specific.