Los Angeles brick and mortar that sells toroidal transformers and Nat Semi LM3875TF

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm trying to get the parts together to build a Gainclone amp. Have the caps and resistors already, but I need the transformer and the Nat Semi LM3875TF. No luck finding a brick and mortar store yet in the Los Angeles area with this items.

Any ideas out there? I've asked the people at a couple of electronic parts stores but they don't know of any places.

Thanks for the help.

The fellow who sells torroids on EBay is worth a visit -- AnTek -- these are stepper motor/CNC toroids -- obviously from China and obviously "very strong stuff" -- put toroid in the EBay search engine. Bringing transformers from New Jersey to California is like coals to newcastle, however. AnTek also sells nice aluminum and steel cases.

As a newbie, I would try to dissuade you from using the TF version of the LM3875 or LM3886 -- reason being that the insulation is a real heat barrier. While the insulation makes it more convenient to use, the thermal impedance is something like 1 degree C/ watt. This translates to a whoppingly bigger heat sink for the same amount of power dissipation. I have found no difference between the T and TF versions when listening (but others have differing opinions.)

Try using the mica insulator vresion with silicon grease on each side -- you can use pretty high mounting pressure with these two chips. (something you can't do with the LM4780.)

Thanks for the help.

A guy hooked me up with a nice transformer and a couple of the LM3875s. I went with the insulated variety but not a problem cooling. I was an overclocker back in the day and have plenty of heatsinks.

It took a couple of hours to build but no major hassles. It was crazy simple wiring it up.