5 channel amp for newbie - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th October 2006, 07:40 AM   #1
Bob0513 is offline Bob0513  United States
diyAudio Member

Default 5 channel amp for newbie

Hello,
I want to make a 5 channel surround sound amplifier for my dorm room, but am a complete newbie to amplifier design. I don't want to have to buy a kit because they are very pricey. Could you guys recommend the easiest, cheapest amp design for me? I don't need that much power, since my room is small and I don't listen to my music very loud. The front and rear speakers on each side will be driven by the same audio input (there are 2 inputs to the amplifier, left and right).

Also, could someone reccomend a realistic wattage I will want for my amp design? Again, I will be listening in a small room, and I don't need the music to burst my eardrums .

Thanks,
Robert S.
Old 30th October 2006, 06:45 PM   #2
Minion is offline Minion  Canada
diyAudio Member

Well you could simply make a Basic LM3886 Chip amp useing one LM3886 Chip for each channel which will give you about 50w per channel or 250w total output.....

You could have the front and Back Left speakers run off of 2 Chips and the Front and Back right speakers run off of 2 more chips and then sum the Left and Right into a single mono channel for the center speaker running off of one more chip......

You would need a Pretty big Transformer( 2x18v at 500vA) and if you aren"t willing to buy a Kit then you will have to design the circuit yourself and then etch your own circuit boards which if you have never done before will be a experience in it"s self.....