building guitar amp... first project! help - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th October 2006, 10:50 PM   #1
ashade is offline ashade  Brazil
diyAudio Member

Default building guitar amp... first project! help

hello, I'm a 4th year electronics student and i'm about to make an amp for my guitar... it's going to have tone, volume, balance controls, it'll be stereo, 40W per channel... it'll have a distortion / overdrive pedal. I'm going to use lm4766 for amplification, lm1036 for tone/balance/volume controls and a pedal that i found on this forum... I'm thinking of connecting the guitar to the pedal, the pedal to the lm1036 and it to the lm4766... is it right?? any recommendations, etc?
Old 7th October 2006, 11:22 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Spasticteapot
Default Re: building guitar amp... first project! help

Quote:
Originally posted by ashade
hello, I'm a 4th year electronics student and i'm about to make an amp for my guitar... it's going to have tone, volume, balance controls, it'll be stereo, 40W per channel... it'll have a distortion / overdrive pedal. I'm going to use lm4766 for amplification, lm1036 for tone/balance/volume controls and a pedal that i found on this forum... I'm thinking of connecting the guitar to the pedal, the pedal to the lm1036 and it to the lm4766... is it right?? any recommendations, etc?

Op-amps are supposed to sound absolutely awful when overdriven or abused. (They're the exact opposite for tubes in this respect).

I've got threads both here and in the Tubes thread on a tube-gainclone hybrid amplifier. You could probbably do something similar with a low-power FET amplifier.

What happens if I put a clipped INPUT into a gainclone?