building guitar amp... first project! help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hello, I'm a 4th year electronics student and i'm about to make an amp for my guitar... it's going to have tone, volume, balance controls, it'll be stereo, 40W per channel... it'll have a distortion / overdrive pedal. I'm going to use lm4766 for amplification, lm1036 for tone/balance/volume controls and a pedal that i found on this forum... I'm thinking of connecting the guitar to the pedal, the pedal to the lm1036 and it to the lm4766... is it right?? any recommendations, etc?

ashade said:
hello, I'm a 4th year electronics student and i'm about to make an amp for my guitar... it's going to have tone, volume, balance controls, it'll be stereo, 40W per channel... it'll have a distortion / overdrive pedal. I'm going to use lm4766 for amplification, lm1036 for tone/balance/volume controls and a pedal that i found on this forum... I'm thinking of connecting the guitar to the pedal, the pedal to the lm1036 and it to the lm4766... is it right?? any recommendations, etc?

Op-amps are supposed to sound absolutely awful when overdriven or abused. (They're the exact opposite for tubes in this respect).

I've got threads both here and in the Tubes thread on a tube-gainclone hybrid amplifier. You could probbably do something similar with a low-power FET amplifier.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=87279

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=87447

It's a nice solution - Assuming you use an el-cheapo power transformer (about 3$, less if you rip it out of something else) for the interstage transformer, and can find a cheap transformer for the 200v needed for the tube stage (rip apart another amplifier!), the total cost of the tube stage is well under 50$.