Fequency cut-off for Direct coupling GC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

How can I calculate Fequency cut off on my inverted GC with direct coupling ?

The former parts is Tube out put for TDA-1541 Non oversampling DAC which use 0.47 uf cap for out put coupling.

see schematic attached.

regards
Ball

Attachments

• directgc00db.jpg
    directgc00db.jpg
    29.4 KB · Views: 313
Hi,
I am not too good at interpreting these chipamp schematics, but I think I see a problem. Please confirm or argue or whatever.

The input to the inverted chipamp will see 10k + the slider resistance as it's source resistance (it will also see the 1M in parallel but in this case it is insignificant). The source resistance will vary with slider position. The gain will vary with slider position. So far no problem.

The source resistance varies from 10k (when slider is at maximum attenuation) to 110k//1M (when the slider is @ 0db).

The DC output offset will vary with the differing source resistance as the volume attenuator is swung through it's operating range. Problem?
How much will the output offset vary with attenuation?

BTW.
the output capacitor will see the 1M @ the source end of the connector in parallel to the 100k attenuator and a varying resistance of 10k to nearly infinity also in parallel.
The cap therefore sees about 9k to 90.1k after the 470nF and the cutoff frequency (-3db) will vary from 37.6Hz to 3.76Hz.
About -1db from 75Hz @ 0db and 7.5Hz @ -70db. So much for direct coupling. Even -1db @ 7.5Hz will be audible as loss of bass.
Understand the theory and consider the conditions from source to output (not just the amp in isolation).

F (-6dbV) = 1 / ( 2 pi R C ) [R in Ohms, C in Farads, F in Hertz]

C = 0.47 x 10^-6

When the pot is at very very low settings
R = 1 x 10^6 || 1 x 10^5 = R1 R2 / (R1 + R2 ) = 90909

F = 1 / ( 2 x 3.14159 x 90909 x 0.47 x 10^-6 )
= 3.72 Hz