2 stk4050v bridged amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm building a power amplifier right now, it will be the 3rd one i build and i'm only 16 years old so i'm not a pro...

i've already tried a 2 ohm load on stk4048 IC's (150W RMS @ 8 Ohm) :D and it worked fine even at full power so my question is will the stk4050 IC (200W RMS @ 8 ohm) can handle a 2ohm load so i can bridge two of them and use a 4 ohm load...?

i need a little help as i don't know what pre-amp IC's to use to invert the signal of one channel and to keep the same gain at the other channel...

i also have to ask about the transformer as in the datasheet it is said that the stk4050 can handle 95V but the recommended voltage is 66V so i'm a little confused because i've already used a 60V (30V+30V) transformer for the stk4048 IC... so i was thinking to build a 90V (45V+45V) transformer for the stk4050 but i'm afraid to burn the stk4050 out...:(
i have good heatsink i never had overheating before, i always use fans so everytime i touch the heatsink it's cold even when the amp is running at full power (stk4048 amp). So does anyone have an idea how i can get the best power performance and without burning everything out...?

Thanks!

Hey Noubar,

I've been working with the STK 4050 for some while, also as bridged amplifiers for stage amplification, where we normally use 4 Ohm loads. A lower load then 4 Ohm is not recommended in bridge application mode, because of the current capabilities of the STK 4050, if you really want to use 2 Ohm loads, you should consider building a Power Mosfett amplifier, which is also easier to expand in output power, but the cost of it will be higher.